Nine points of Drishti

Drishti is focal point that enhances concentration when you are performing asanas, pranayama and meditation.

The nine points are sky, thumbs, third eye, nose, hand, navel, toes, left, and right.

While some yoga styles have a fixed or “correct” drishti for each pose, I prefer to let myself choose in the moment. For example, in seated forward fold I might use Nose or Toes. Each of these adds a distinct “feel” to the same pose.

Assorted drishti

Next time you practice, see if you can recognise the focal point of each pose that you do. Note whether it helps you to concentrate and hold the pose more firmly.

Published by Satoyama Yoga

里山ヨガは千葉県鴨川市で寄付ベースのコミュニティヨガ教室です。 興味のある友達を招待してください。 Satoyama Yoga is a donation-based community class in Kamogawa, Chiba, Japan, led by Kristen McQuillin. Daily classes are held via Zoom; special yoga events and private lessons with Kristen are possible. Please contact for details. The group's history: 11/13/2015 - weekly class at Satoyama Design Factory; 9/10/2019 - daily class at Monaka after Typhoon 15; 3/23/2020 - daily Zoom class during pandemic.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with
Get started
%d bloggers like this: